Videography





Die For Metal


Tim sees the truck
Tim sees the truck

There are some interesting information to Die For Metal. Manowar shot parts of the video on Saturday, the 24th February 2007, in Bochum (Germany) during the Manowar Fan Release Party to the new album Gods Of War. That's why also some Manowar Germany users have managed to eternalise themselve on the video.
Beside the fans the german actor Tim Sander played an important role. Sander is most of all know by tv soap operas like "Gute Zeiten - Schlechte Zeiten" or "Verliebt in Berlin". Not all fans were zealous about the decision to chose Sander, but everyone should build his own opinion about that.

On Friday, the 16th February 2007 at 20:15, the german tv channel Pro7 showed an event named "Fight Night" that was hosted by Stefan Raab. Manowar used this show to present "Die For Metal" the first time and of course this was done live. As of 16th February 2007 it was also possible to download the song from manowar.com, musicload.de and the Pro7 Downloadshop for some money.

Of course it can not be unmentioned what's the background for this song. If somebody reads the booklet to Gods Of War carefully (in the PDF version) will notice quickly that this song is dedicated to a guy named Götz Kühnemund. Because not everybody knows who this guy is und why he is honoured by Joey in that way you can read here a summary of the occurrences that have led to this song.

Tim drinks the beer
Tim drinks the beer

Götz Kühnemund is the chief editor of the Rock Hard magazine and had since early days every now and then the oppurtunity to interview the band. Both parties had a good relationship between them. Then came the Earthshaker festival. And like the most of you will know there were also some critics around (orchestra not live, too much talking, band changes running order, band gets money for ALL sold shirts, and so one). Together with other reproaches (Karls accident was faked to have a reason for delaying the tour, because not enough tickets was sold) Götz confronted the Manowar leader in an interview with them.

It should be mentioned that the interviews was very agressive from Götz's side and he was not really squeamishly. Because Joey now felt personally attacked it came like it has to be and the interview derailed. Joey asked Götz if he was ready to die for metal, what was negated by Götz with the argumentation "I prefer to live for it". Joey now declared that he would die for metal, and that this should be printed under all circumstances. Götz could also come on stage and shoot him, because he would be ready to die for metal.

Other people would now have forgotten the things that happened but Joey decided to write "Die For Metal" and to make a little hint to Götz with the dedication of the song.

You can build your own opinion about that, but now more details to the video:

The finale
The finale

The video starts with Tim Sander who is insulted at work by his boss, whereupon he quits his job enervated. Then the first tacts of the song starts (borrowed from Led Zeppelins Kashmir). Tim now walks aruond and kicks at everything that is not nailed down, and also the two guys who comes across him are no obstacle for him. You see short lightings flashing the sky. He walks on and suddenly sees a hall, and in front of the Manowar Truck. Now and then you see short scenes of the band on stage with some pyro effects. Tim now comes near and already hears the first voices. He now gets into the crowd. At Erics "and the guy beside me gave me a beer" you soon see Tim drinking the mentioned one (on the left side of Tim you can see the Manowar Germany user Steelheart that is also known as Kaffee).

Now you see often Tim that is partying with the fans to the music. At "They call themselve immortals, they're the truest of the true" you see the fans in a circle holding their hands together and lifting them up cheering.

You also can admire the band (Karls new "uniform" should be mentioned). At the words "raise your fist up in the air" Eric raises his fist. At "brothers stand beside me" he points at his band colleagues. Karl also shows every now and then his guitar skills. At "louder then hell" Joey points into the camera (the same camera guy like in "Return Of The Warlord"?).

Now the end starts with big pyro effects. The band stands in the middle of flaming pillars.


Further pictures

Tim   Eric and Joey   Joey   crowd

Videographie





Die For Metal


Tim sieht den Truck
Tim sieht den Truck

Zu Die For Metal gibt es einige interessante Zusatzinformationen. Manowar drehte Teile dieses Videos am Samstag, den 24. Februar 2007, in Bochum (Deutschland) während der Manowar Fan Release Party zu dem neuen Album Gods Of War. So gelang es auch einigen Manowar Germany Users sich im Video zu verewigen.
Neben den Fans spielt vor allem der deutsche Schauspieler Tim Sander die wichtigste Rolle, der vor allem durch TV Seifenopern wie "Gute Zeiten - Schlechte Zeiten" oder "Verliebt in Berlin" bekannt ist. Nicht alle Fans waren von der Wahl Sanders begeistert, aber darüber sollte sich jeder seine eigene Meinung bilden.

Am Freitag, den 16. Februar 2007 um 20:15 Uhr, zeigte der deutsche TV Sender Pro7 ein Event namens "Fight Night" welches von Stefan Raab moderiert wurde. Manowar nutze diese Sendung um "Die For Metal" das erste mal zu präsentieren und dass natürlich live. Ab dem 16. Februar 2007 war es dann auch möglich den Song auf manowar.com, musicload.de und dem Pro7 Downloadshop gegen ein gewisses Entgelt herunterzuladen.

Natürlich kann man an dieser Stelle auch nicht unerwähnt lassen welchen Hintergrund der Song hat. Wer sich das Booklet zu Gods Of War (in der PDF-Version) aufmerksam durchliest merkt schnell dass dieser Song einem gewissen Götz Kühnemund gewidmet ist. Da nicht alle wissen wer dieser Herr ist und warum er von Joey in solcher Weise geehrt wird, hier eine kurze Zusammenfassung der Geschehnisse.

Tim trinkt das Bier
Tim trink das Bier

Götz Kühnemund ist seines Zeichens Chefredakteur des Rock Hard Magazins und hatte schon seit frühen Tagen immer wieder die Gelegenheit die Band zu interviewen. Das Verhältnis der beiden Parteien schien eigentlich sehr gut. Dann kam das Earthshaker. Und wie die meisten wissen werden gab es an diesem Auftritt auch gewisse Kritiken (Orchester nicht live, zu viel Gelaber, Band ändert einfach so Running Order, Band beteiligt sich an ALLEN Shirtverkäufen, usw). Zusammen mit anderen Vorwürfen (Karls Unfall wäre nur vorgetäuscht um einen Grund für die Tourverschiebung zu finden, weil die sich nicht gut verkauft) brachte Götz diese dem Manowar-Frontmann bei einem Interview vor.

Man muss dazu erwähnen dass er dabei nicht gerade zimperlich sondern sogar eher agressiv vorging. Da Joey sich nun persönlich angegriffen fühlte kam es wie es kommen musste und das Interview entgleiste. Joey fragte Götz ob er bereit wäre für den Metal zu sterben, was dieser mit der Begründung "ich lebe lieber dafür" verneinte. Joey verkündete daraufhin dass er bereit wäre für den Metal zu sterben, und dass das unbedingt gedruckt werden soll. Götz könne sogar auf die Bühne kommen um ihn zu erschiessen, denn er wäre ja bereit dafür zu sterben.

Andere hätten die Sache vielleicht dann auf sich beruhen lassen, aber Joey liess es sich nicht nehmen mit "Die For Metal" und der persönlichen Widmung eine weitere Spitze gegen den Rock Hard Redakteur vom Stapel zu lassen.

Darüber kann sich jeder seine eigene Meinung bilden, aber nun zum Video an sich:

Das Finale
Das Finale

Das Video beginnt mit Tim Sander der bei der Arbeit von seinem Chef beschimpft wird, worauf dieser entnervt den Job hinschmeisst. Dann setzen die ersten Takte des Songs ein (aus Led Zeppelins Kashmir entliehen). Tim geht durch diverse Gegenden und tritt dort alles weg was nicht niet und nagelfest ist und auch die beiden Typen die ihm entgegen kommen sind kein Hindernis für ihn. Man sieht kurz Blitze das Bild durchzucken. Er zieht weiter und sieht plötzlich eine Halle vor der der Manowar Truck steht. Zwischendurch sieht man kurze Ausschnitte der Band auf der Bühne mit etlichen Pyroeffekten. Tim kommt näher und hört schon die ersten Stimmen. Er mischt sich unter die Menge. Bei Erics "and the guy beside me gave me a beer" sieht man auch bald wie Tim selbiges zu sich nimmt (links daneben steht der Manowar Germany User Steelheart der auch als Kaffee bekannt ist).

Man sieht nun immer wieder Tim der zusammen mit den Fans zur Musik abrockt. Bei "They call themselve immortals, they're the truest of the true" sieht man die Fans im Kreis ihre Hände aufeinander legen um sie jubelnd hochzuheben.

Auch kann man immmer wiede die Band bewundern (auffällig ist hier Karls neue "Uniform"). Bei den Worten "raise your fist up in the air" macht auch Eric selbiges. Bei "brothers stand beside me" zeigt er hinter sich auf seine Bandkollegen. Karl zeigt auch ab und an seine Gitarrenkünste. Bei "louder then hell" zeigt Joey in die Kamera (derselbe Kameramann wie bei "Return Of The Warlord"?).

Nun beginnt das Ende mit ordentlichen Pyroeffekten. Die Band steht inmitten von Flammensäulen.


Weitere Bilder

Tim   Eric und Joey   Joey   Menge